Heading into COMIC-CON INTERNATIONAL: SAN DIEGO, DC Entertainment today announced plans to publish eight new six-issue miniseries in 2016.

These new books will reunite several characters from DC Comics’ rich history with the writers that made them fan favorites: Marv Wolfman returns to RAVEN, Gerry Conway to FIRESTORM, KATANA: CULT OF THE KOBRA will be written by Mike W. Barr and Len Wein will handle the writing chores on METAL MEN and SWAMP THING.

Three more titles round out the lineup, expanding on the combination of new creative voices with characters from DC’s library recently established in the New DC Universe debuting this past June: Amy Chu (SENSATION COMICS WONDER WOMAN) provides her own unique take with POISON IVY: CYCLE OF LIFE AND DEATH, Aaron Lopresti (THE NEW 52: FUTURE’S END) will pen METAMORPHO, while the always interesting Keith Giffen puts his own unique spin on one of DC’s more offbeat titles, SUGAR & SPIKE.

“Part of the New DC Universe involves keeping our comics lineup constantly evolving,” said DC Entertainment SVP Editorial Bob Harras. “That means more characters, different tonalities and new talent. Creating these miniseries enables us to maintain a diversified menu of titles, while testing the waters with fans to see how these new directions will be received. Readers won’t have to wait for their favorite character to have a guest appearance in another title; they get their own book, even if it’s for a limited run.”

Artists are still being confirmed for these titles and publication dates have yet to be announced.