Congratulations to DC's 2019 Will Eisner Comic Industry Award Winners!

Congratulations to DC's 2019 Will Eisner Comic...

By DC Publicity Monday, July 22nd, 2019

Friday night at Comic-Con International, during a ceremony held at the Hilton Bayfront in San Diego, CA, the 31st annual Eisner Awards recognized DC across multiple categories and with a selection of creators notable for being both fan favorites and for their critical acclaim.

For the 2019 ceremony, Mister MiracleBatman: White Knight, Eternity Girl and Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles all earned nominations for Best Limited Series, while writers Tom King and Mark Russell and artists Mitch Gerads, Sonny Liew and Yanick Paquette, among others, were all recognized with individual category nominations for their stellar work.

At the ceremony itself, multiple awards were presented to the creators at DC, resulting in a total of five distinct category wins. Tom King and Jason Fabok’s “The Talk of the Saints,” in Swamp Thing Winter Special won its category for Best Short Story while Mister Miracle by Tom King and Mitch Gerads received an Eisner award for Best Limited Series.

The Mister Miracle team also won, for a second year in a row, their individual categories when Tom King received the Best Writer Eisner for Batman, Mister Miracle, Heroes in Crisis, Swamp Thing Winter Special and Mitch Gerads won the Best Penciller/Inker award for Mister Miracle.

Letterer Todd Klein received an Eisner for Best Lettering for his work on Batman: White Knight, Eternity Girl and Books of Magic at DC as well as for his work on The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Tempest (Top Shelf/IDW) and Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Neil Gaiman’s A Study in Emerald (Dark Horse).

Comic-Con International is the home of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, the most prestigious awards in comics for over two and a half decades. Hailed as the “Oscars of the comics world,” the list of 2019 Eisner Award nominees include a diverse mix of groundbreaking work that achieved wide critical and popular acclaim in all aspects of comic creation.

DC is thrilled for Tom, Mitch and Todd for their category wins, and congratulates all the 2019 Eisner Award nominees and winners!

Full list of DC's 2019 nominees:

Best Short Story:
“The Ghastlygun Tinies,” by Matt Cohen and Marc Palm, in MAD Magazine #4 (DC)
“The Talk of the Saints,” by Tom King and Jason Fabok, in Swamp Thing Winter Special (DC)

Best Continuing Series: 
Batman, by Tom King et al. (DC)

Best Limited Series: 
Batman: White Knight, by Sean Murphy (DC)
Eternity Girl, by Magdalene Visaggio and Sonny Liew (Vertigo/DC)
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, by Mark Russell, Mike Feehan, and Mark Morales (DC)
Mister Miracle, by Tom King and Mitch Gerads (DC)

Best Humor Publication:
MAD magazine, edited by Bill Morrison (DC)

Best Graphic Album—New:
Green Lantern: Earth One Vol. 1, by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books:
Action Comics: 80 Years of Superman Deluxe Edition, edited by Paul Levitz (DC)

Best Writer:
Tom King—Batman, Mister Miracle, Heroes in Crisis, Swamp Thing Winter Special (DC)
Mark Russell—Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, Green Lantern/Huckleberry Hound, Lex Luthor/Porky Pig (DC); Lone Ranger (Dynamite)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: 
Mitch Gerards—Mister Miracle (DC)
Sonny Liew—Eternity Girl (Vertigo/DC)
Yanick Paquette—Wonder Woman Earth One, vol. 2 (DC)

Best Coloring: 
Jordie Bellaire—Batman (DC); The Divided Earth (First Second); Analog, Dead Hand, Head Lopper, Redlands(Image); Shuri, Doctor Strange (Marvel)
Nathan Fairbairn—Batman, Batgirl, Birds of Prey, Wonder Woman Earth One, vol. 2 (DC); Die!Die!Die! (Image)
Tamra Bonvillain—Alien 3 (Dark Horse); Batman, Doom Patrol (DC): Moon Girl, Multiple Man (Marvel)
Matt Hollingsworth—Batman: White Knight (DC): Seven to Eternity, Wytches (Image)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist:
Lee Bermejo—Batman: Damned (DC)

Best Lettering: 
Jared Fletcher—Batman: Damned (DC); Paper Girls (Image)
Todd Klein—Black Hammer: Age of Doom (Dark Horse); Batman: White Night (DC); Eternity Girl, Books of Magic (Vertigo/DC); The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Tempest (Top Shelf/IDW)

Best Cover Artist: 
Nick Derington—Mister Miracle (DC)
Joshua Middleton—Batgirl, Aquaman variants (DC)